- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16899Law 11 - Offside 9/25/2007RE: select Under 14 B. Hilliard of Brick, NJ US asks...during a direct penalty kick, a player from the team taking the kick was way in back of the wall and as the ball was kicked stood directly in front of the goalie. As the ball was entering the goal both the center ref and the side line ref called offside and obstructing the goalie. The goal was denied and the other team was given a goal kick. The coach asked for clarification from the refs. Was this the right call from the refs? Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol There are no walls on penalty kicks, as all the players must be outside the penalty area. I assume you are talking about a direct free kick taken from outside the penalty area.
If the player on the kicking team was in an offside position - you don't give enough detail for us to be sure - then the offside call was correct. Players in an offside position cannot interfere with an opponent. Being in the goalkeeper's line of sight to the ball is interference.
By the way, the restart only looked like a goal kick. I am sure it was actually an indirect free kick taken from the goal area. These refs seem to have gotten everything else right with this call, so I assume they would also give the correct restart.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Steve Montanino First, this was NOT a penalty kick. A penalty kick is awarded when a direct free kick offense by the defending team inside their own penalty area, while the ball is in play. Then play is resumed with all the players on the field outside the penalty area, penalty arc, and in between the ball and the farthest goal line from the ball. The goalkeeper of the defending team and the kicker are the only exceptions to this positioning. The Goalkeeper stands on his line inbetween the goal posts until the ball is kicked forward. The kicker, who must be identified before the kick is taken, may stand inside the penalty area and may move after the referee's signal.
So to you, that means a penalty kick is one where it is a kick taken from 12 yards out by one kicker and is only defended by the goalkeeper.
You are describing a direct free kick in the question above. In that case, the referee felt a player in an offside position was interfereing with the goalkeeper. If that is what happened, then the referee was correct to disallow the goal and then he must award and indirect free kick to the defenders. You said a goal kick was awarded, I think perhaps you did not realize it, but the kick was probably indirect.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer The only reason a player is placed in this location is to interfere with the goalkeeper's vision. If he is in an offside position when the ball is played he should be pulled up for an offside offence. The restart is indirect free kick and if the location is within the goal area the kick may be taken any place within the goal area. Well done referees.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Thanks for the question. This was not a penalty kick as there can be no wall. Assuming this was a direct free kick as you state, what probably happened is one of the kicker's teammates set up behind the wall and in offside position at the time the kick was taken. SInce he was in offside position and interferred with the keeper's line of site, he was guilty of an offside infraction and the goal should have not counted. Restart would be an indirect free kick for the defending team at the spot the offside player was when the kick was taken unless he was inside the goal area in which case the kick would come out to the six yard line.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16899
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 17007
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|