Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17007

Law 11 - Offside 10/1/2007

RE: Select Under 13

Tom Jaskiewicz of Bay City, MI USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 16899

Direct Free Kick 8 yards out from the 18. Wall at 18 - 2 offensive players one step behind wall. [16899] Ball kick over goalies head into the goal, A/R and center ref both say offside. When ask for clarification he said because they were in the box between the posts he called it. Was this the correct call? Restart was correct. I am also a certified referee and would not have called offside. What is the correct call?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

First off, the wall is 2 yards too close, but that's not what you were asking.

If the referee felt that the players in an offside position were interfering with the goalkeeper by being in his line of vision to the ball, the call is correct. USSF put out a memo on this last year, or maybe it was the year before, based on an incident in a professional game. The USSF's opinion was that there was no reason for a player to line up in an offside position at a free kick, between the ball and the goalkeeper, except to be interfering.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The referee's opinion regarding this offside decision was there was an infraction. The whistle blew stopping play. An indirect free kick was awarded to the defenders. So be it. If your opinion regarding what constitutes interference with opponents is not the same as US Soccer's they adjust. If your opinion was the players could not have interfered with play or an opponent in this particular case AND you are the match referee then you are correct.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

If the players in the offside position interfered with play, then it was. If the offside positioned players obstructed the view of the keeper then its the correct call.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17007
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>