- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17214Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/9/2007RE: Jr. High competitive Under 14 Ann of Blairsville, PA USA asks...This question is a follow up to question 1111 I have a question about the goalie touching the ball with their hands after it has touched their feet. 1) If an attacker shoots on goal and the ball hits the goalie's feet, can she then still pick it up with her hands or does she now need to continue to use her feet? 2) If the goalie has the ball in her hands and accidentally drops it and the ball touches her feet, can she pick it up with her hands or must she now continue to use her feet? 3) If the ball is deflected off the goalpost and hits the goalie's feet, can she pick it up with her hands, or must she continue to use her feet? Thanks!
Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol 1) She may use her hands.
2) It is an offense for a goalkeeper to regain hand possession of the ball, unless it is first touched by another player. Bouncing the ball or tossing it up into the air are considered to be continuous possession. If while bouncing it she manages to lose control, she may not handle it again - although the referee will likely see it as a doubtful or trifling offense that doesn't need to be called if the distance is small and there are no opponents nearby waiting to pounce.
3) How did the ball get propelled into the goalpost? That makes a great deal of difference. If it was kicked there by a teammate, the goalkeeper is not permitted to handle the ball. (Again, the ref may see the offense as doubtful or trifling, and decide it need not be called.) If the ball got to the post by any method other than a teammate's deliberate kick or throw-in, she is free to pick it up.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino 1. She may touch the ball with her hands since it was played by an opponent. 2. Once she releases control of the ball from her hands, she may not subsequently handle the ball until it touches another player. 3. I'll have to say yes with the understanding that I believe in this instance if a teammate kicked the ball that close to the goal that they were not deliberately kicking the ball to the keeper.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17214
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 23145
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|