- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 23145Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/19/2010RE: Under 10 Jared of Greenville, TX USA asks...This question is a follow up to question 17214 I saw a goalie in a U10 rec game attempt to punt a ball into play and she missed the ball. When she went to pick it back up, the referee whistled a penalty. Indirect, about 10 feet (yes feet) from the goal, and backed the wall up to the goal line. Would you have made this call, or simply allowed play to continue? Is either decision a rule or grey area?? Also, what if she would have punted the ball straight up and it bounces once or twice? Would you allow her to catch it and retry with out penalty?? Thank you!! Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh Hi Jared What has happened here is that the goalkeeper has infringed Law 12 by touching the ball with her hands after releasing the ball (missed punt) from her hands. The restart is an indirect free kick from where the GK touched the ball with her hands and the defending team has to retreat 10 yards from the ball for the IDFK or in this case back to the goal line. As the offence happened inside the goal area the IDFK should have been taken on the goal area line parallel to the goal line at the point nearest to where the infringement occurred. That is what the Law states so it is not a grey area. At U10 the referee may exercise some discretion and simply ignore the infraction and allow play to continue. The game at this level is meant to be a learning experience and fun. That can only be done with the agreement of both teams and its coaches. When one brings adult laws to what should be a fun game this is what results. If the referee does not 'administer' the Laws then the adults present can and do suggest a lack of fairness, bias, poor judgment etc. I would much prefer that these games were played with as little adult interference as possible and that incidents like this are seen as trifling infractions that should not be punished. .
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profileAnswer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham Under the strict letter of the law (see below), a goal keeper who voluntarily releases possession of the ball may not touch the ball with the hands. It is a indirect free kick foul. A ball thrown in the air and then touching the ground is considered a voluntary release; although by tradition, dribbling the ball is not considered a voluntary release. IMO, however, in younger or less-skilled age group, any infringement likely is doubful or trifling and may be ignored. The purpose of the rule is to prevent keepers from abusing their right to hold the ball unfettered for six seconds to delay or prevent the opponents from a fair opportunity to play the ball. Here, the keeper is trying to get the ball put back into play quickly and would have but for the whistle. Many referees would distinguish between the player who misses the ball entirely from those who miskick it. I would not, and would punish only deliberate breaches at this age and skill level.
Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham
View Referee Dennis Wickham profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol A goalkeeper is allowed to bounce the ball and still retain possession. Could this missed punt be viewed as a bounce? Then the ref would call nothing. Else, the ref could decide the offense was trifling, and still call nothing. And have a word to the keeper at an opportune moment to warn her that other refs might not be so kind; she should be prepared to kick the ball away if she misses her punt. The straight-up punt and re-handling is also a second-touch offense, but again the ref will need to evaluate the necessity of calling it. Note that at U10 the players are learning. So too are the referees. Until refs get some experience, they cannot be expected to differentiate between infractions that should be called and those that should not. So calling the second-touch on this goalkeeper would be expected from most refs who work at the U10 level. Any indirect free kick going inbound should be taken no closer than the edge of the goal area. If the infraction was inside the goal area, the ball would be moved back to the '6 yard line' - whatever that distance is on the undersized U10 field. I've seen some very small goal areas out there; 10 feet would not be unexpected. The fact that the referee knew enough that all defenders had to be on the goal line suggests to me that he would also know where to place the ball.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 23145
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|