Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17503

Law 15 - Throw In 10/24/2007

RE: rec Under 19

Merijane Lee of Portola Valley, CA USA asks...

My buddy and I disagree on the definition of a throw in entering the field of play. He contends that the ball has to completely cross the touchline before it is considered to be in play. So if it only partially enters the plane of the touchline, it is a retake.

I was taught many years ago that the ball only has to completely cross the line when going out of play. When being thrown in, it only has to penetrate the plane of the line, and then it is in play.

However, when I look at the law, it doesn't specifically state either situation.

I would appreciate the answer to this question. Thank you!

-mj

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Ok so what do we get for settling this in your favour?

The throw in has a few new wrinkles in it. The 2 meter free zone and an incorrectly taken throw in that does not enter the field is turned over to the opponents.

Your correctly taken throw in that breaks the plane of that 5 inch touchline has indeed entered the field of play. What you were taught years ago still applies.
Please send us the a check with our winnings we are often short on lunch money thanks
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Your buddy has the sides of the line mixed up! If a ball is only partially on the touchline during active play, is it in or out? If he can answer that correctly (you did) then he should be able to follow the logic to when the ball is in play and how much of the line it has to cross. Of course, I'm wondering at this point if either of you discussed when it left the hands of the thrower?



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Enters the field of play means any part of the ball over some of the touch line. The same holds true for a ball in play, any part over some part of the line indicates it has not left the field of play. This concept is very difficult to master and bets are won all the time if the wagerer takes the penetrates the extended vertical plane of the line. In this case you really can be a little bit pregnant...

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17503
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 17521

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>