Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17521

Law 15 - Throw In 10/26/2007

RE: Select Under 16

Dave Eberle of Clarkston, Washington USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 17503

Throw in Clarification

In a recent response to a question [17503], Referee Richard Dawson stated that,
"The throw in has a few new wrinkles in it. The 2 meter free zone and an incorrectly taken throw in that does not enter the field is turned over to the opponents."

Please elaborate on the "incorrectly taken throw in that does not enter the field is turned over to the opponents."

Is a correctly taken throw in that does not enter the field still taken again by the same team?

Thank you.


Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Dave,
that would be a yes to a correctly taken throw-in being retaken by the same team if it failed to enter the field! As long as the throw in occurred from the correct spot and the action was as stated in procedure.
An incorrectly taken throw in is a loss of possession no matter if it enters or not. The infringement occurs based on the act of the incorrect throw. It was a surprise for many that a restart not actually in play could be so but given the indfk for a pk that is not going forward on a back heel is also in law now these alterations are what FIFA says now, certainly not traditional thinking.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Yup Dave, the Additional Instructions and Guidance dropped that on us this year. Here is what was written:

If the ball touches the ground before entering the field of play, the throw-in shall be retaken by the same team from the same position
om pr provided that it was taken in line with the correct procedure. If the throw-in is not taken in line with the correct procedure, it shall be retaken by the opposing team.

Paragraph 15.4 of Advice to Referees was changed to reflect this new thinking by removing the word completed and inserting taken in the last line of the second paragraph.

So Ref Dawson knows of what he speaks...

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17521
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>