Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17561

Law 14 - Penalty kick 10/28/2007

RE: High School, Sunday and Cup league Adult

Carl Belletti of Pittsburgh, Pa. USA asks...

We had a penalty kick and the hit off the cross bar. The ball came back out to the player taking the kick. He did not touch the ball for second time. The defensive player tried to push him into the ball but the he kept on shielding him until another player came in to touch the ball. Are question as referee group was what would be the call if the player from the other team had pushed him into the ball and did still did not play the ball? If he is still shielding the ball would make the call then?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Carl,
I see no fault in the player simply standing near the ball forcing an opponent to go around but if the player chooses to shield the ball as he is a player who cannot LEGALLY play the ball in my opinion he has unfairly impeded the opponent. I see it as an INDFK against because although the ball might be construed as within a playable distance the player in question cannot play it. The INDFK call should be made before the push could occur! However, if the push occurs and the player was simply standing their ground we have a new pk situation
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Ref Dawson's interpretation agrees with that of the USSF. Shielding the ball when you are not allowed to play it is impeding.

You ask what would happen if the opponent pushed the player into touching the ball. I'm sure you know what happens when a player pushes an opponent. Call that foul, don't worry about the 2nd touch.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Of course, while Ref Dawson is correct as per FIFA and USSF Law, you're talking about High SChool and it's possible this is allowed.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

NFHS does not address this eventuality in it's rules or play rulings so the referee is free to exercise his good judgement. One will note the good judgement exercised by high school referees generates many questions on this site and on others as well. It seems even though they are permitted to use good judgement few have it to use...

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17561
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 17622

See Question: 17623

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>