- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17622Law 14 - Penalty kick 11/3/2007RE: Under 16 Steven of Sydney, NSW Australia asks...This question is a follow up to question 17561 If a penalty is awarded In the box and the player taken it shoots it hits the bar and rebounds to him and shoots again and scores is it a goal ? Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol No. Law 14 tells us:
"If, after the penalty kick has been taken: The kicker touches the ball a second time (except with his hands) before it has touched another player: - an indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team, the kick to be taken from the place where the infringement occurred * (see page 3)"
On page 3, we find that if the incident occurred inside the goal area, the ball may be placed anywhere in the goal area for the outbound IFK.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller No - this is playing the ball a second time before it has been touched by another player. In every restart of play this is prohibited. It would be IFK for opponent's at spot of the second touch.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17622
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|