Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17666

Law 11 - Offside 11/4/2007

RE: Rec. Adult

Tom of Kingsport, TN USA asks...

A player gets the ball on his side of midfield. All the defensive players are across midfield and not defending their goal. The player with the ball dribbles across midfield. There is only the goalie between him/her and the goal. The player dribbles all the way to the goal and scores. Does the score count or was the player offsides since there was only one defensive player between the goal and the player with the ball? If the player with the ball had passed the ball to another teammate and the teammate scored the score would not count because that player was off-sides. The score from the player that dribbled across midfield to the opponent's goal should count because the ball was not passed off to another offensive player.


Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

We have to go back to the sentence before the one you first wrote. Where was the player when the ball was last touched by a teammate? That makes all the difference. Just because the player got the ball in his own half of the field, that doesn't mean he was not in an offside position earlier when a teammate played it.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Tom, I sense a misunderstanding of offside here and would suggest you go to our main page and read Ref Fleischer's excellent presentation



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

I agree that you should read Mr. Flesischer's presentation on the main page. If the attacker was closer to goal line than ball and second last defender on on attacking half of field at moment the teammate passed him the ball, then it should be offside. The referee should call this well before he dribbles down the field and scores a goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17666
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 17715

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>