Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17715

Law 11 - Offside 11/6/2007

RE: Rec. Adult

Tom of Kingsport, TN USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 17666

Follow up question to #17666--
The Red team is attacking from left to right. One Red team player dribbling the ball crosses midfield and falls down. The ball is loose. One Blue team player controls the ball, dribbles the ball across midfield. The Red team goalie is the only Red team player between the Blue player and the goal. The Blue team player dribbles to the goal and scores. Does the score count?

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

Yes.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

You might want to read the offside paper we have on the site. It is available in the right column as a link. The goal counts, the paper tells you why.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Why wouldn't it count? Blue came from their half of the field, didn't run over anybody or otherwise do something to draw a whistle for an offense, and scored a goal. Goallllllllllll!



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

And why wouldn't it count? If you're thinking offside you may want to read the excellent article Ref Fleischer has on our main page. Offside as a concept involves teammates. A player all by himself with the ball is free to dribble wherever he likes regardles of number of defenders between himself and the keeper.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

I betcha the Blue player was always behind the ball as he went down to score as well. He didn't run ahead of the ball, getting closer to the goal than the ball, and then back up to play it again. So he never was in an offside position!



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17715
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>