- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17715Law 11 - Offside 11/6/2007RE: Rec. Adult Tom of Kingsport, TN USA asks...This question is a follow up to question 17666 Follow up question to #17666-- The Red team is attacking from left to right. One Red team player dribbling the ball crosses midfield and falls down. The ball is loose. One Blue team player controls the ball, dribbles the ball across midfield. The Red team goalie is the only Red team player between the Blue player and the goal. The Blue team player dribbles to the goal and scores. Does the score count?
Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino Yes.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer You might want to read the offside paper we have on the site. It is available in the right column as a link. The goal counts, the paper tells you why.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney Why wouldn't it count? Blue came from their half of the field, didn't run over anybody or otherwise do something to draw a whistle for an offense, and scored a goal. Goallllllllllll!
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino And why wouldn't it count? If you're thinking offside you may want to read the excellent article Ref Fleischer has on our main page. Offside as a concept involves teammates. A player all by himself with the ball is free to dribble wherever he likes regardles of number of defenders between himself and the keeper.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol I betcha the Blue player was always behind the ball as he went down to score as well. He didn't run ahead of the ball, getting closer to the goal than the ball, and then back up to play it again. So he never was in an offside position!
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17715
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|