Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17702

Law 14 - Penalty kick 11/5/2007

RE: rec Under 15

george bordokas of manhattan beach, ca usa asks...

if a penalty kick is awarded and time in the half or the game has expired are all the players taken away from the penalty box and the kicker takes the tick with no play after any sort of rebound?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

If a foul resulting in a penalty kick is called, time must be extended in a half to allow the PK to happen. In that case, the kicker may touch the ball only once, and the PK is over when there is no possibility of the ball going in the goal. Only the kicker and the goalkeeper may participate. The ref would do well to advise the rest of the players that they can't play the ball, but the ref has no authority to move them away from the penalty area if they wish to be there.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

The players remain on the field and still have to be behind the ball and at least 10 yards from it. The referee tells the kicker and keeper time has expired and there is no second shot if the keeper saves it. The kick is finished when all the kinetic energy has left the ball



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Ah, Ref Contarino makes a good game management point! The referee can certainly, and probably should tell teams, especially those below professional or advanced levels, about how the results are viewed.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17702
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 17751

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>