Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17751

Law 14 - Penalty kick 11/7/2007

RE: Level 3 Adult

Edgar Hulatt of Calgary, ALberta Canada asks...

This question is a follow up to question 17702

Following up to question 17702: I was watching a boys soccer game while on holiday and a penalty was awarded just prior to full time. Time was extended to take the kick and the young referee correctly advised everyone that the whistle would go as soon as the kick was completed. The goalkeeper dived to save the ball and parried it onto the post. The ball came back and hit the keeper and then went in the net. The young referee ruled no goal as the keeper saved the ball but I am pretty sure it should have been a goal as the ball had not stopped moving.

Can you just clarify the correct call. As you can imagine this call generated a ton of discussion between players, coaches and spectators.

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

All arguments should have stopped after someone read this, from Law 14 - The Penalty Kick:

When a penalty kick is taken during the normal course of play, or time has been extended at half-time or full time to allow a penalty kick to be taken or retaken, a goal is awarded if, before passing between the goalposts and under the crossbar:

the ball touches either or both of the goalposts and and/or the crossbar and/or the goalkeeper

Makes it fairly clear, at least I think it does. Young referees sometimes don't have sufficient basis in Law to arrive at correct decisions.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

First of all, the penalty kick is done when the referee says it is done. So if he said it was done when the keeper saved it, it is done. However, normally, the referee will wait until the ball stops bouncing around and then "end" the penalty kick, as per Ref Fleischer's comments on Law 14.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17751
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>