Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17875

Law 11 - Offside 11/12/2007

RE: Intermediate Ref AYSO Adult

Rolf Bennett of Santa Barbara, Calif US asks...

An attacking team on a throw in, throws the ball to the attacker who is in an offside position. A defender is able to slightly deflect it, but the ball goes to the attacker who subsequently scores a goal. Is the attacker offside once the defender made contact with the ball.

I feel the attacker was in a fair position on the throw in and that it is unfair to penalize them for a deflection by the defender. One of those gray areas that I'm sure the answer will be "must receive the ball directly on a throw in"

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

You've got two choices of interpretation here, both of which will result in a "No Offside" call.
(1) - The player received it directly from the throwing teammate, and the defender's interaction was merely a deflection which does not change anything in the offside equation.
(2) - The defender's interaction was a controlled play on the ball, in which case the original throw-in target received the ball from an opponent, not a teammate.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

Play should continue, the referee should not stop it.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

You have missed something on this one and it is what puts it into your area of gray: offside position is evaluated at the moment the ball touches or is played by a teammate NOT an opponent. You can see in this case the moment to evaluate offside position has not yet arrived.

There is a second thing we can use to remove more gray: it is not an offence in itself to be in an offside position.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17875
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 17914

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>