Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17914

Law 11 - Offside 11/14/2007

RE: Select, Copetitive

Mark of Springfield, VA USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 17875

Did I miss something here in the original question [17875]. Quote "An attacking team on a throw in, throws the ball to the attacker who is in an offside position." Since it is a throw in, there should not be an offside consideration as there is no offside on a throw in. Once the thrower's teammate plays the ball, then offside position becomes a consideration but not before. The question stated that it was thrown to a teammate but was deflected by a defender. Irrelevant as I understand it. The ball was thrown to a teammate and it didn't matter where that teammate was on the field. Good for the mate for scoring the goal. Again, did I miss something?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Nope, you didn't miss anything. And that's what we told the original correspondent. The deflection by the opponent didn't change a thing.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Could have missed this: the question equates offside position and offside offence. You might be doing the same thing. What the referee needs to understand is there can be no offside offence if a player receives the ball directly from a goal kick or a throw-in or a corner kick. It is entirely possible for there to be a player in an offside position on those three restarts but Law 11 also states it is not an offence in itself to be in an offside position.

From these three restarts of play the referee must not consider an offside offence until the ball touches a teammate of the offside positioned player, after that we apply the three ways of committing an offside offence.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17914
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>