Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 18593

Law 13 - Free Kicks 3/23/2008

Mel Fros of Urbana, IL USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 18538

Re #18538
Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino:
The ball has to be kicked and moved by player A. If he does not do this, the goal would be waived off and a goal kick awarded

Would it be fair to say that if the ball was not put into play according to LOTG, the restart never happened? Player A only touches the ball, but does not cause it to move (progress foward, sideways or backwards). Therefore restart of play never happened.

In that case (and assuming that trickery was not an issue) restart of play (IFK)has to be retaken. No?

Mel

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

The Fact that a goal kick occurs is because the ball was last touched by the opposition. A failed INDFK being only legally kicked once that enters the goal directly is perfectly fine as a legal restart as the ball was kicked and moved on the second correct attempt. It is ONLY that a goal cannot be scored directly off an indfk which is why a goal kick occurs. An indfk if SIGNALED correctly (arm raised) as such by the referee would not be retaken in such circumstances. Only if the referee failed to communicate the restart was an indfk could we consider retaking. The deal is a referee keeps the arm raised and never moves it when the second kicker comes along signals to the keeper that ball is NOT yet touched a second time.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Ahh, but if Player A does not put the ball into play, surely the shot taken by Player B does. It was kicked, and it moved - a long way. Because it was an indirect kick, the goal was not scored. A ball that crosses the goal line, not scoring a goal, last touched by the attacking team - goal kick, is it not?



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

It is a goal kick then. The ball went into the goal and a goal was not scored in accordance with the laws.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

What makes you think the ball was never properly put into play? The ball is in play when it is kicked and moves. The SECOND player not only kicked it and moved it, he kicked it into the goal! The ball was clearly put into play. the problem is, a goal cannot be scored directly from an indirect free kick so we restart with a goal kick



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee MrRef

Later the same day from Mel:

Re #18538 Law 13 Free Kicks

My apology for a rash response this morning. I could not resist before heading off to church! Please don't bother to answer. But if you do....

The scenario:
Player A runs up to the ball, places foot on the ball and yells to coach, "Hey Coach, do you want me to take the kick?" Then while shouting, moves the ball in a manner that could be deemed as a kick, questionable, but does qualify. The ball moves and player B runs up and shoots the ball and scores.

I questioned whether the ball was put into play at all. It seems to me that if there is any doubt about whether player A put the ball into play according to the LOTG, then certainly player B erased that doubt by taking, in violation of the ref's IFK decision, what appeared to be a direct free kick. Therefore, unless the ball was touched any other player before fully crossing into the goal, the goal does not count and the restart is a goal kick.

Sorry, dear chaps,for having screwed up. Please forgive me, ja?
Melchior

Ja, sind vergeben Sie.



Read other questions answered by Referee MrRef

View Referee MrRef profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 18593
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>