Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 19374

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/14/2008

RE: amateur Adult

Martin Gautrey of Southport, Merseyside England asks...

An indirect free kick is awarded for obstruction, against a striker. Defender decides to play the ball to his own keeper, expecting him to sweep the ball out to his full back.

Keeper takes an air shot and the ball goes into the net - what is the decision?

My brother says retake, I say corner, my other brother and dad says own goal.

Who is right - or is their another answer?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

We don't have enough information to answer this question. Specifically, did the kick take place inside or outside the defender's penalty area? If outside the penalty area you are correct. Keeper never touched the ball and even if this had been a DFK, you can't score on yourself on any restart. Also, it was an IFK so no goal if directly kicked into either net. If the ball was INSIDE the penalty area, then the ball was never put into play as it has to go beyond the penalty area first. In this case the restart would be to retake the IFK. In no case could it be an own goal



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gene Nagy

Martin, if the FK was taken outside the penalty area, it is a corner kick. You will find this inLaw 13 clearly stated. If it was taken inside his penalty area the ball has to go BEYOND the penalty area before it is in play. This word beyond means that it has to cross one of the three boundaries of the area: the sides or the 18 yard boundary. Even though the ball left the penalty area by crossing the goal line, it was still not in play because it did not go BEYOND the p. area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gene Nagy

View Referee Gene Nagy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 19374
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 19402

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>