Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 20549

Law 13 - Free Kicks 11/19/2008

RE: High School

kim of middleville, mi usa asks...

This question is a follow up to question 7558

just asking for clarification...your answers seemed a little askew to the questions. Obviously a goal kick needs to travel outside the penalty area to be in play. Any other IFK or DFK would only have to be kicked properly to be in play even if it's in the penalty area no matter by attacker or defender. The 10 yd rule would apply. Correct?

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Incorrect. Any restart coming out of the penalty area must leave the penalty area before it is in play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

A goal kick is a a free kick!

ANY defending free kick, be it INDFK or direct taken from within the 18 yard penalty area of which the 6 yard goal area is a part of the ball MUST completely clear the penalty area boundry lines into play before ANYONE (attacker or defender) can play the ball again this includes the original kicker of the ball. Mind you if the original kicker touched the ball a second time AFTER it left the penalty area it is an indfk against his team, if he touches it before, it is a retake same as for eveyone else.

If the ball is touched a second time before it has left the area or if the ball travels over the goal line before leaving the area into play even into the netted area of goal it is ALWAYS a retake as the ball is never in play

One often very over looked piece of law, any defender can be within the penalty area at the taking of the free kick but no opponent can enter the penalty area until AFTER the ball itself has CLEARED the penalty area. While no opposing player can be within the penalty area at the taking of the defending free kick. Ten yards still applies to the opposition as the minimum distance they must be away from the restart. While it could be considered trifling or advantagous to overlook it, it is technically a retake.

The only exception applied to a goal kick is it is exempt from offside evaluation on the intial kick same as a corner kick or throw-in.

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Law 13 and Law 16 are worded the same way - the ball is in play after it leaves the penalty area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Kim, go read the original question again. Chuck and I answered correctly. ANY free kick leaving the penalty area must be completely out of the penalty area before it is in play. Yes, the 10 yard rule does apply if the ball is closer to a penalty area boundary line the opponents must be at least 10 yards away. If the kick is further from the penalty area boundary line than 10 yards the opponents must still be OUTSIDE the penalty area. the ball is NOT in play when it is kicked and moved as you allude to. The ball must travel out of the penalty area. This is in black and white in law 13



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20549
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 20562

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>