- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 7558Law 13 - Free Kicks RE: Youth Premiere Under 16 Eric Gustafson of Grand Rapids, Michigan USA asks...There is an IFK (or DFK) being taken from within the penalty area [NOT a goal kick]. Does the ball have to totally come out of the penalty area prior to any player being able to play the ball a second time? Some Refs say yes, some say no. We need clarification on this issue. Thank you. Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Eric it is truely unfortunate that some referees think the ball is in play before it leaves the penalty area at the taking of any free kick. This is clearly NOT the case, Law 13 - Free kicks and Law 16 - The Goal Kick clearly state the ball is in play when it is kicked directly beyond the penalty area. ..Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino I find it troubling that ANY referee doen't know when a free kick leaving the penalty area is in play. This is not a gray issue and is clearly written in Law 13. The ball is in play after it is,as you say,totally out of the penalty area. In addition, the opponents must still be at least 10 yards away. Thanks for question
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 7558
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 20549
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|