Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 20722

Law 13 - Free Kicks 1/10/2009

Rick of manteca, Ca USA asks...

On an indirect free kick must the ball make one full revelution to count as a touch or can a player simply tap it before another player kicks for it to count as a goal?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Rick that law changed many years ago, the optimum words are now **kicked** and **moved** The placing of the foot on top of the ball and rolling it slightly with the foot in constant contact or simply stepping on the ball and taking the foot away is NOT a true kicking action.

The ball can be lifted into the air via a scooping action and any part of the foot, heel, toe, instep, side, or sole can strike the ball to place it into a discernable motion as in from here to there. The ball can travel in ANY direction with the exception of a PK and kick off which MUST go forward and outgoing free kicks from inside their penalty area must CLEAR the penalty area to be in play.

While the ball is SUPPOSED to be kicked almost ANY foot to ball contact will often result in the defending team rushing the ball. The attacker often accepts this as FAIR even if the ball is not truly kicked particularly on INDFKs. Since both teams accept the restart there is no pressing need to intervene so most referees overlook it.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

No and no although at one time both were true, most recently just tapping the ball satisfied 'kicked and moved'. Not so anymore. Advice to Referees specifically states tapping the ball on the top with the foot or stepping on the ball do not qualify.The distance moved may be minimal but the foot must be used in a kicking motion. Dragging the ball with the foot in a continuous motion also does not qualify as kicked and moved. Being "moved" does not include the ball merely quivering or shaking from light contact with the ball. The ball may move in any direction but it must actually move although a full revolution as used to be required is not necessary. The final deciosion is up to the referee.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Neither. In the opinion of the referee, the ball must be kicked (using the foot) and moved (from here to there, the necessary distance being but an inch or more) in order to be in play. Let me emphasize 'IN the OPINION of the REFEREE' as the deciding factor on whether or not a ball has moved sufficiently upon being kicked.

Tapped and wiggled doesn't cut it. The ball must be stationary before being kicked, upon or very near the spot where it was when the incident occurred or play was stopped.

Once the ball is actually in play (see above), then any touch by a player other than the one who kicked it into play can be a goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

1 July1997 was when Law 13 changed from kicked the distance of it's circumference to kicked and moved. Since that time there has been a constant argument what constitutes kicked and moved.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20722
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 20727

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>