Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 20727

Law 13 - Free Kicks 1/11/2009

Rick of Manteca, ca USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 20722

I saw this in a game this past weekend. An idirect kick was given. The ball was touch. upon the touch a defending rushed in and the shot on goal was missed. The Ref gave the charging player a yellow card (delay of game?) and the kick was retaken and a goal was scored. Was this correct.
Thanks

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Let me make sure I understand what you saw. The attacking team is awarded an indirect free kick. At that point, the defenders should have been retreating the required 10 yards and cannot charge the ball before it is put into play. The ball was 'touched' by an attacker. Was the ball merely tapped on the top or was it kicked by the foot and moved? The ball is not in play until it is kicked and moved. A defender 'rushed in'. Was the defender closer than 10 yards? Was he in the process of moving away from the ball before he rushed in? Did he wait until the ball was in play before he rushed in? You then state the shot on goal was missed. Was this the touch you refer to or was this another attacker taking the shot after his teammate had first 'touched' the ball. Once the ball has been put into play, the defender is free to challenge for the ball. the referee must have felt that the defender infringed on the required distance. If so, he would be cautioned and shown the yellow card but not for delaying the restart of play but for not giving the required distance. When the kick was retaken, which is proper after the caution, the ball must first be put into play and then must touch any other player before a goal may be scored.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

INDFK requires two touches on the ball to qualify for a goal.
That first touch must be a KICK which discernably moves the ball from here to there.

If the defenders reduce the required 10 yards prior to the kick it is a failure to respect the require distance. If the kick is not advantagous to the kicking team, retake the kick and caution show a yellow card to the defender who broke early. If it was his second caution then show a red card send him off and reduce his team by a player.

If the kick was retaken, then it is retaken from the SAME spot and it still REMAINS an INDFK! The ball cannot DIRECTLY enter the goal.

If the ball was kicked and then touched by any other player except the original kicker and that ball entered into the goal , over the goal line under the crossbar and between the posts it would be a legal goal, restart kick off!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20727
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>