Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 20951

Law 13 - Free Kicks 3/9/2009

RE: Under 15

Terry Allen of Coffs Harbour, NSW Australia asks...

A three-part question relating to the taking of an INDFK within a team's own penalty area (Law 13);

A)The ball is not in play until it leaves the penalty area, but I can't see that the LOTG prevent a second player from the same team touching the ball before it leaves the penalty area. ie Is it permissable for one player to tap the ball to a second who then dribbles it out of the penalty area or must the ball clear the penalty area with the first touch?

B)If the answer to my first question is that a second player may touch the ball before it leaves the penalty area, then surely there would come a time when the referee would intervene with a USB caution if the two (or more) players simply passed the ball around within their own penalty area to run the clock down knowing their opponents can't enter the penalty area to take possession. Would they all receive a caution?

C) Under 'Infringements and Sanctions' Law 13 states that if the (non goalkeeper) kicker deliberately handles the ball 'after the ball is in play' it would be a penalty if this occurred within the penalty area. However, the ball is not in play until it leaves the penalty area. Is this point only there to deal with a situation caused by strong wind blowing the ball back? I can't see how else this rule might be applied.

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

A) Law 13 Free Kicks says:

Free Kick Inside the Penalty Area
Direct or indirect free kick to the defending team:
? all opponents must be at least 9.15 m (10 yds) from the ball
? all opponents must remain outside the penalty area until the ball
is in play
? the ball is in play when it is kicked directly out of the penalty
area
? a free kick awarded in the goal area may be taken from any point
inside that area

Notice the part where it says the ball is in play when it is kicked DIRECTLY out of the penalty area - that means the ball was kicked by a defender and that kick must clear the PA without being touched by anyone else.

B) See A above - a second player cannot touch the ball. If they do, it is retake of the free kick.

C) This point is there to deal with free kicks that do not originate in the penalty area, generally speaking. However, it would cover the situation where the kicker kicks it directly out of the penalty area and promptly handles it. It could even apply to a ball kicked directly out of the area that returns via wind or bouncing off the referee or some other freak occurence and the kicker deliberately handles the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

A. A second player is not allowed to touch or play the ball before it leaves the penalty area. This is what Law 13 means when it says kicked 'directly' out of the penalty area. If a second player touches or plays the ball before it leaves the penalty area, the kick is retaken.
B. Since you are incorrect in A, B doesn't apply
C. Infringements and sanctions applies to ALL free kicks. However, if the ball was played from inside one's own penalty area it could rebound off the referee back to the kicker as well as the wind blowing it back.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20951
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 20969

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>