Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 20969

Law 13 - Free Kicks 3/12/2009

RE: Under 15

Terry Allen of Coffs Harbour, NSW Australia asks...

This question is a follow up to question 20951

Thank you for your explanation. Very clear. Now, just so I understand the Law's application correctly please tell me if this is correct.

A player (goal keeper or otherwise) goes to take a goal kick or free kick from within his own penalty area, slips and duffs the ball with enough momentum to only just make it to the edge of the penalty area.

Fearing it will roll to the feet of an attacker, leaving him as a sitting duck, he races forward & dives on the ball just before it makes it across the line.

As the ball has not left the penalty area, the keeper has prevented a near disaster and may calmly take the ball back to its original spot and place the ball ready for a retake.

Correct?

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Correct. The ball is not in play until it is kicked directly out of the penalty area - meaning all of the ball must be outside of the line marking the penalty area (lines are part of the area they encompass).

Depending on the referee, the game, and the circumstances (has this GK been skirting the edges of misconduct all game?) it is possible to get a delaying the restart caution for such behavior. Very unlikely, of course, but worth mentioning. Word to the wise and all.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

He may. That said, if, in the opinion of the referee, this constituted misconduct, he could be cautioned and shown the yellow card for either delaying the restart of play or unsporting behavior.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20969
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>