- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 20969Law 13 - Free Kicks 3/12/2009RE: Under 15 Terry Allen of Coffs Harbour, NSW Australia asks...This question is a follow up to question 20951 Thank you for your explanation. Very clear. Now, just so I understand the Law's application correctly please tell me if this is correct. A player (goal keeper or otherwise) goes to take a goal kick or free kick from within his own penalty area, slips and duffs the ball with enough momentum to only just make it to the edge of the penalty area. Fearing it will roll to the feet of an attacker, leaving him as a sitting duck, he races forward & dives on the ball just before it makes it across the line. As the ball has not left the penalty area, the keeper has prevented a near disaster and may calmly take the ball back to its original spot and place the ball ready for a retake. Correct? Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney Correct. The ball is not in play until it is kicked directly out of the penalty area - meaning all of the ball must be outside of the line marking the penalty area (lines are part of the area they encompass). Depending on the referee, the game, and the circumstances (has this GK been skirting the edges of misconduct all game?) it is possible to get a delaying the restart caution for such behavior. Very unlikely, of course, but worth mentioning. Word to the wise and all.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino He may. That said, if, in the opinion of the referee, this constituted misconduct, he could be cautioned and shown the yellow card for either delaying the restart of play or unsporting behavior.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20969
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|