Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 20964

Law 13 - Free Kicks 3/11/2009

RE: Division 1 Under 19

Dave Feltey of Metairie, Louisiana USA asks...

Red Player A is defending on his offensive half of the field. During the course of play his feet tangle with Blue Player A who goes down. The referee calls an IDFK for Blue. Red Player A gets up and moves about 6 or 7 yards from the ball. Blue Player A asks for ten yards and the ref indicates for the Red player to move back. The Red player turns his back to the ball and slowly jogs away.

At this point Blue Player A strikes the ball, which hits Red Player A (who is now 7-10 yards from the ball)in the back. The ball rebounds towards the goal. Red Player A moves to the ball and scores on a long shot from just outside the 18. The ref disallowed the goal and brought it back for a restart from the IDFK. Was the IDFK restart the proper call? I didn't get the chance to speak to the official after the match to ask him about the play.

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

First off, you seem to be describing a trip. The restart for that is a DFK, not IFK.

Then the referee instructs the player to remove himself 10 yards from the ball, but doesn't seem to tell the kicker to wait for a whistle.

The kicker goes early, and instead of immediately halting play, the ref waits until an apparent goal has been scored.

All in all, if these are the facts, not an impressive performance.

If a player requests help with the minimum distance, the referee should then tell that player he is not to kick without a whistle. If he does, the ball is brought back for a retake of the kick, and the kicker should be cautioned.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Sounds like a few things are wrong. The restart should have been a DFK for tripping not an IFK. When the player asked the referee to intervene, the referee should have made it very clear that the kick could not be taken until he whistled. As soon as the kick was taken in your scenario the referee should have blown the whistle and had the kick retaken properly



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20964
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 20975

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>