- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 20964Law 13 - Free Kicks 3/11/2009RE: Division 1 Under 19 Dave Feltey of Metairie, Louisiana USA asks... Red Player A is defending on his offensive half of the field. During the course of play his feet tangle with Blue Player A who goes down. The referee calls an IDFK for Blue. Red Player A gets up and moves about 6 or 7 yards from the ball. Blue Player A asks for ten yards and the ref indicates for the Red player to move back. The Red player turns his back to the ball and slowly jogs away. At this point Blue Player A strikes the ball, which hits Red Player A (who is now 7-10 yards from the ball)in the back. The ball rebounds towards the goal. Red Player A moves to the ball and scores on a long shot from just outside the 18. The ref disallowed the goal and brought it back for a restart from the IDFK. Was the IDFK restart the proper call? I didn't get the chance to speak to the official after the match to ask him about the play. Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol First off, you seem to be describing a trip. The restart for that is a DFK, not IFK. Then the referee instructs the player to remove himself 10 yards from the ball, but doesn't seem to tell the kicker to wait for a whistle. The kicker goes early, and instead of immediately halting play, the ref waits until an apparent goal has been scored. All in all, if these are the facts, not an impressive performance. If a player requests help with the minimum distance, the referee should then tell that player he is not to kick without a whistle. If he does, the ball is brought back for a retake of the kick, and the kicker should be cautioned.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Sounds like a few things are wrong. The restart should have been a DFK for tripping not an IFK. When the player asked the referee to intervene, the referee should have made it very clear that the kick could not be taken until he whistled. As soon as the kick was taken in your scenario the referee should have blown the whistle and had the kick retaken properly
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20964
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 20975
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|