Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 20975

Law 13 - Free Kicks 3/14/2009

RE: Competitive Under 19

William Guynes of California, MD USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 20964

The scenario I am replying to had many issues, as the refs correctly pointed out.

1. Center should have awarded a DFK for tripping. (LotG Law 12 DFK#2)
2. Center should have held restart until whistle and not given kicker chance to restart early. (ATR 13.3)

But let us assume the Center does make these initial two mistakes. So now we are at, 'ball hits the retiring defender in the back'.

Here I believe is the Center's 3rd error.

The restart should stand. See ATR 13.3 paragraph 4. The attacker chose to restart knowing the defender had not finished retiring. He must live with his decision.

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Let's assume for argument's sake that the call was for playing in a dangerous manner. Far-fetched, I agree, but possible, and that restart is an IDFK. But even if it is a DFK offense, what followed is not necessarily an issue, as you correctly note with the reference to ATR 13.3, Para. 4

All referees at some point or other in a game don't insert themselves in the restart to set a wall, they simply tell defenders to move back. This is acceptable assuming distance from kicks has not been a real issue in the game and assuming the defense moves to comply immediately, and especially if the free kick is somewhere near midfield as it was in this case. Red was complying, and Blue had no reason to wait for a whistle based on any indications from the referee. Thus, kicking the ball and hitting a retiring defender is no reason to bring the kick back.

We all know about folks who go about making ass-umptions, but the facts control. If the only real error here is bringing the kick back for a retake given what had NOT transpired in the interim, then yes, the kick could stand.

Of course, in the intial scenario, when the attack asks for 10 yards, we've moved to a ceremonial kick and the referee failed to perform this function. Everything after that simply compounded the error. Would love to have heard the assessor on this one try to deconstruct it for the referee.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

I would agree that the referee compounded his error and should have not brought the ball back and allowed the goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

All well and good, except in the original question Blue had asked the ref to enforce the 10-yard distance. If that happens, Blue has given up the right to a quick kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20975
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>