- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 30225Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/28/2016RE: Competitive and Select High School Larry Essick of Harlem, GA USA asks...This question is a follow up to question 23964 I believe that the answers provided are good ones but I have a question about the final answer which states that a goalkeeper can never be charged with handling. There is actually a rule on handling that affects goal keepers. It states that a keeper cannot take the ball in hand, drop it and play it with their feet, and then subsequently pick it back up. Doing so is considered handling and results in an indirect free kick for the opposing team. This rule was adopted circa 1992 and, as far as I know, is still in effect. Am I in error? Answer provided by Referee MrRef Hello Larry, the keeper has no handling infraction that can occur a DFK inside his own penalty area. A DFK is upgraded to as a PK (penalty kick) the inference was no penalty kick can occur from a keeper handing not that a keeper can not be guilty of an INDFK free kick offence!
The keeper has 4 illegal handing possibilities, the second touch after the release is 1, holding it too long is 2, picking it up after it was deliberately kicked to him by a team mate is 3 or doing the same on a direct throw in from a team mate is 4. From our pitch to your pitch in the spirit of fair play
Read other questions answered by Referee MrRef
View Referee MrRef profileAnswer provided by Referee Jason Wright Hi Larry, The answer states: 'The keeper can never be punished with a penalty kick for handling the ball within her own penalty area - not ever.' That is correct - while there are several handling offences the goalkeeper can commit inside their own Penalty Area, none of them can result in a Penalty Kick - they are all Indirect Free Kick offences. Also, the goalkeeper can never be cautioned or sent off for any handling offence inside their own Penalty Area.
Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright
View Referee Jason Wright profileAnswer provided by Referee Joe McHugh Hi Larry Many times when answering questions the obvious is not stated or the answer expanded to cover all scenarios. The answer could have had an E point which would have stated * Goalkeepers can, however, be guilty of several handling offences that incur an indirect free kick.* When the term handling was used in the question it was in the context of deliberate handling which has a direct free kick or penalty kick restart. So the answer given was correct and in the context of a penalty kick restart inside the penalty area on any handling offence committed by a goalkeeper. That is not possible. The goalkeeper as you rightly point out can be guilty of IDFK offences by touching the ball with his hands such as picking the ball up again after it has been released from his possession or touching the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team mate. That law is still very much part of Law 12 yet it is now rarely called as GKs are mindful not to touch the ball with their hands in such scenarios. While outside the penalty area the goalkeeper is treated like any other player and that includes being called for deliberate handling. Happy that you are using the resource of previous answers to hone your knowledge. Just one caveat. As the Laws / Rules do have annual amendments clearly it is not possible for us to go back on old questions that were correct at the time of posting and that might subsequently be amended by a recent law change. This though is not one of them unlike say offside and Law 11 which has changed since then. We however anticipate some significant changes this year when the new Laws booklet issues.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profileAnswer provided by Referee Joe Manjone Larry, The high school rule that you are referring to is 12-7-1 on page 55 that states: From the moment the goalkeeper takes control of the ball with the hands when playing as goalkeeper within his/her own penalty area, he/she has six seconds to release the ball into play. During the interval, he/she may hold the ball, bounce it, or throw it into the air and catch it. Once the ball has been released into play, the goalkeeper may not touch the ball again until it has been played or touched by another player of the same team outside the penalty area, or by a player of the opposing team either inside or outside of the penalty area. This is not part of the NFHS handling rule which is 12-2, and it is penalized with an indirect kick. I hope this clarifies the rule. I hope that your team has a successful season.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone
View Referee Joe Manjone profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30225
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|