- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 6207Law 17 - Corner Kick RE: Rec Under 11 Victor of Roaming Shores, Oh USA asks...During a game last weekend a corner kick was awarded. The team taking the kick kicked the ball directly into the side netting..The referee determined with some feedback from the coach that the ball was never "in-bounds" and awarded a re-kick. On the rekick a goal was scored. ..The coaches and ref then got together and deceided that maybe an error was made and did not count the goal. Fortunately it did not impact the final result of the game. ..I believe the re-kick should not have been awarded, Am I correct? Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer If a corner kick is correctly placed before it's taken it's on the field of play. From the moment it's kicked and moved it's in play. The ball is out of play, according to Law 9 - The Ball In and Out of Play, when it has wholly crossed the goal line or touch line whether on the ground or in the air or play is stopped by the referee...Obviously neither the referee nor the coach was sufficiently armed to enter this discussion...You are correct...Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino the proper restart for what you describe is a goal kick as the corner kick was obviously kicked over the goal line by the attacking team. The statement that the ball was never "in-bounds" is curious but also meaningless. Of course it was in-bounds. A corner kick by definition starts from in-bounds as opposed to a throw-in. 2 things bother me, If the referee was certified 1)what is a certified referee doing getting feedback from a coach, 2) the referee did not have an understanding of the Laws. I'm happy the illegal goal did not influence the outcome of the game
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 6207
Read other Q & A regarding Law 17 - Corner Kick The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 14205
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|