Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

AskTheRef.com Most Recent Questions

[Previous] [Next]

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/18/2007

Scott Slaughter of Conyers, Georgia USA asks...

The keeper miskicks a punt, but rather than picking up the ball they just go ahead and play it out with their feet. The ref called a foul and awarded a IDFK. I know it would have been a foul if the keeper picked up the ball, but the ref said it had ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/18/2007

Todd of Dallas, Texas USA asks...

A ball is received by the keeper outside of his/her penalty area from a) a teammate b) the opposing team. The keeper then proceeds to dribble into the penalty area so he/she can pick up the ball. Can you confirm the restart for a) is an IDFK from the...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 15 - Throw In 3/18/2007

Aidan Worrell of Chicago, IL USA asks...

From a throw the ball enters the net untouched by any player - where is the ball replaced...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/18/2007

Gerry of Kaneohe, Hawaii USA asks...

The ball is kicked in the air. The defensive persons is directly behind the offensive person and he is about a foot taller. As the ball comes down, they both jump in the air to try and head the ball. The defense goes over the back and head of the ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/18/2007

Muhammad Afzal of Quetta, Pakistan asks...

Dear Sir,

I have one question, I hope you will understand and help me.

1. If you remember, few days before one the best final match was played between Chelsea VS Arsenal. In the match I have noted some things of the referee deci...

Read The Full Q & A

Other 3/18/2007

Donna levin of Leicester, Leicestershire England asks...

Has a referee ever scored a goal in a match and if so was it ever allowed?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 3/17/2007

Gord Quinlan of Saskatoon , Saskatchewan Canada asks...

Ball lying on the 18 yard line and part of it is out of the penalty area and part is on the line. The keeper reaches out over the ball and pulls the ball back in by making contact with the ball on the part that is out of the penalty area?


Read The Full Q & A

Law 7 - Match Duration 3/17/2007

Keith of oxford, uk asks...

The score is 4-2 the away side down to 10 men. The ref blows for full time, the away team manager shouts that there is still 7 to 8 minutes left to play (confirmed by home team)Away manager says too late now you have blown your whistle for full time ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/17/2007

Bob Roach of Charlottesville, VA USA asks...

As a follow up to question 14983...as a captain of an adult co-rec team, I was involved in a game where it was the last game of the season, the two last place teams playing, and the opposing team had only 11 players. We had a shot on goal, and out of...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/17/2007

Bryan Klinck of Franklin, MA USA asks...

I have two questions regarding misconduct:

1) A player engages in trash-talking with an opponent (no profanity is used). Would this be considered USB (yellow card) or use of offensive/insulting/abusive language (red card)? Or is it a ju...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

AskTheref.com Educating and Amusing The Soccer Referee Since October 11, 1999

Soccer Referee Extras

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>