Soccer Rule Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Soccer Referee Questions on Soccer Rules
Welcome to all from a Soccer Law Question and Answer site. Providing answers to questions regarding soccer laws since October 11, 1999... to ask a question simply click on Ask the Ref in the menu bar and pose your question and the panel will reply ASAP.

Over the past 24 years we have amassed hundreds of thousands of questions & answers but the LOTG always change and/or portions no longer apply.

It is essential to reread the latest version of the Laws of the Game as they are constantly being tweaked, reevaluated and rewritten each year!
The IFAB 2022 - 2023 LOTG Laws of the Game can be viewed here

Those who have ideas or articles please feel free to contact the editor Richard Dawson at with suggestions.

You Call It!

After two years and many request - You Call It is back! Now it's your turn to test your knowledge in a scenario created by our panel of referees. If your answer is spot on we will publish it on our site! Good luck click here!

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/26/2023

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...


one additional question please.

What if the whole incident happens when the ball is out of play? Player A will also receive 1x YC and 1x RC?


Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/26/2023

Barry Stewart of Chilliwack, BC Canada asks...

Hi all,

I was in a Facebook discussion about a video clip of a handball call and when one poster mention it being "ball-to-hand," another poster claimed that is no longer a consideration. Who has it right?

While we're on the topic: would it be legitimate to ignore a handball where the shot was clearly off-target and the ball was heading out of bounds. Of course, the contact would be counted for corner kick/ goal kick purposes.

Thanks for your efforts in answering these questions....

Read The Full Q & A

Law 17 - The Corner Kick 9/24/2023

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...


one more old thing, please. I was unable to send an inquiry through your site. It did not work :-)

Scenario: A player steps on the ball before a corner kick (or free kick or kick-off) and moves it to a teammate with the sole of his foot.

Most say that this is not allowed (including IFAB). It is not allowed to stand on the ball before the restart.

So what is the correct procedure? How do you solve it? Most say the kick should be repeated.


Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/24/2023

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...


one situation, please.

'The ball is in play. Players start pushing each other. The referee stops the game. He wants to give both of them a yellow card. Then player A punches player B.'

What is the decision? Red card for player A and yellow card for player B? I think yes :-) Or player A gets two cards? (yellow for pushing and red for punching?) I think probably not. What if he already had one yellow? Then he wouldn't be able to get a straight red. :-)

What is the restart? For whom?

Thank you very much!...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 9/21/2023

RE: Under 13

Tyler of Vancouver, BC Canada asks...

Can an attacker be offside if both the kicker and the receiver are already past the second to last defender. For example, if the defenders are on the other end of the field and an attacker is standing by the penalty box. If an attacker with the ball dribbles past the defenders and is just past the halfway line on the defenders side and passes to the attacker by the penalty box. Would that be offside?
Thanks in advance....

Read The Full Q & A

High School 9/21/2023

RE: Varsity High School

Chester of Fairfield, CT USA asks...

In a US varsity high school match a penalty kick was awarded in a two man system. My partner proceeded to run it, gave the ball to the kicker to place on the spot, and proceeded to tell the goal keeper to have at least one foot on the line until the ball was struck after the whistle. A coach complained that he shouldn't be saying anything to the keeper (it was his keeper). I told him this was common practice, a standard procedure done in many leagues, and typically taught to referees, but he insisted this wasn't right. Should we not be doing such a thing?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 9/21/2023

RE: rec Under 18

Larry of Danville, California United States asks...

At the taking of a goal kick the GK sets the ball inside the PA. The ball is stationary and the GK takes a soft touch kicking it completely out of the PA then kicks it a second time. No attacker attempts to advance on either touch. By Law this is an IDFK at the point of the second touch. My question is, should it be called, or just redo the goal kick, or even ignore it? Those who strictly interpret the Law obviously would say IDFK, but we routinely ignore trifling infringements such as the 6 second possession rule on a GK, or the exact position of a throw-in, and I wonder if you believe this would fall into a similar category. Does your answer change depending on the age and level of play.

Also, am I correct that if the ball was...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/12/2023

RE: Under 14

Tyler of Vancouver, Bc Canada asks...

Hello! At what point is the goal keeper out of their penalty box? If the ball is just outside of the box, can they keep their feet in the box and pick it up? What if it’s on the line? How about if they’re already holding it? Is it where the goalkeeper is or where the ball is? I’m seeing a lot of drop kicks where their feet are in the box but the ball is outside of the box come of out their box and the hands are a little out too.
Thanks, Tyler....

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/9/2023

Barry Stewart of Chilliwack, BC Canada asks...

A question from today's u-18 boys match.

An attacking player found himself slightly off the field by the opposing goal post. Rather than come immediately back onto the playing field, he ran behind the goal netting first, then back into play.

I realize he was liable to be called offside if conditions were met — but are there any other concerns? (He ended up not affecting play and the defence cleared the ball, btw.)

While on this topic: is a player also welcome to run down the side of the field — outside the touchline — then back into the playing area (again liable to potential offside rulings, or collisions with coaching staff or substitutes)?

I have asked in the past if a player can step off the ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/7/2023

RE: competitive High School

Robert N Fiorio of Schaumburg, IL United States asks...

restart on a player striking a teammate in their own penalty area while ball is in play...

Read The Full Q & A Educating and Amusing The Soccer Referee Since October 11, 1999

Soccer Referee Extras
Thursday, September 28, 2023

Recent Questions

Click Go to view all recently posted questions

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer