Law 1 Field of Play
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Law 14 - The Penalty kick
Question 1 thru 10 of 97

[Next]

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 12/12/2020

Larry of Danville, CA US asks...

Your responses answered question 34077, but the premise of the question seems incorrect? The GK was off line and the PK was “missed” – not saved. The kick is only retaken if the GK’s offense clearly impacted the kicker. I suppose that was possible, b...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 12/10/2020

Chris Payne of Suwanee, GA USA asks...

During a PK, the keeper infringed by not starting on the goal line which the AR called out. The PK was missed and cleared. A retake was awarded. Is it mandatory that the same player takes the second PK?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 11/13/2020

Brian Lutke of Whistler, BC Canada asks...

Very simply, during a penalty kick, can the goalkeeper move laterally along his goal line prior to the kick being taken (i.e. in an attempt to distract the penalty taker)?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 9/30/2020

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello,

one short question, please.

The Penalty Kick rule says: 'When the ball is kicked, the defending goalkeeper must have at least part of one foot touching, or in line with, the goal line.'

So can this foot be in t...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 9/22/2020

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

I also have one specific situation from last weekend.

Video (in time 4:55):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzYRXkquHGc

Both teams entered the penalty area before the kick. But the "Red 25" benefited from this situati...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 9/20/2020

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello,

one situation, please.

The player takes a penalty kick. His teammate enters the penalty area before the ball moves. The goalkeeper saves the ball (or bounces it back into the field, or deflects it off the field).

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 9/16/2020

Muhammad Rizwan Khan of Abbottabad, Abbottabad Pakistan asks...

Can you elaborate this? Law 5 Injuries:

a penalty kick has been awarded and the injured player will be the kicker


Im confuse if a player is injured (in a penalty area) and recover soon he only can take the penalty or anyo...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 5/21/2020

Russell Montgomery of Sydney, Australia asks...

Yes, good to see games happening again - and I hope everyone is safe in this 'new normal'.

Agree that the converted penally was within the LOTG, as I did say 'coming close too', and certainly the example Ref MCHUGH provided https://www.youtu...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 5/19/2020

Russell Montgomery of Sydney, Australia asks...

Bayern's Robert Lewandowski's converted penalty in the recently resumed Bundesliga match against Union Berlin looked to be coming close to 'feinting' in the approach to the shot.
Might be technically within the LOTG, but I question it is within w...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 3/12/2020

alex wong of richmond hill, ON Canada asks...

law 14 states 'a player of both teams offends the LOTG, the kick is retaken unless a player commits a more serious offence'.
When both teams encroach the penalty area, the kick should be retaken as per the law. However, if the keeper also moves f...

Read The Full Q & A

[Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.