Law 1 Field of Play
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Law 14 - The Penalty Kick



Gives the procedure for taking a penalty kick and sanctions for not following those procedures, including a summary table.

Law 14 - The Penalty kick
Question 1 thru 10 of 90

[Next]

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 5/21/2020

Russell Montgomery of Sydney, Australia asks...

Yes, good to see games happening again - and I hope everyone is safe in this 'new normal'.

Agree that the converted penally was within the LOTG, as I did say 'coming close too', and certainly the example Ref MCHUGH provided https://www.youtu...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 5/19/2020

Russell Montgomery of Sydney, Australia asks...

Bayern's Robert Lewandowski's converted penalty in the recently resumed Bundesliga match against Union Berlin looked to be coming close to 'feinting' in the approach to the shot.
Might be technically within the LOTG, but I question it is within w...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 3/12/2020

alex wong of richmond hill, ON Canada asks...

law 14 states 'a player of both teams offends the LOTG, the kick is retaken unless a player commits a more serious offence'.
When both teams encroach the penalty area, the kick should be retaken as per the law. However, if the keeper also moves f...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 1/29/2020

Joe Schmitt of LOUISVILLE, KY us asks...

During the grassroots referee re-certification training, they pointed out two things that appear incorrect but just checking to ensure I didn't miss something:
- during penalty kick, the keeper cannot move
- during throw-in, the feet could ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 1/7/2020

Gargy of Haifa, Haifa Israel asks...

Hello,

I have a question regarding a penalty kick during the game.
The law says that:

the player taking the penalty kick or a team-mate offends:
¢if the ball enters the goal, the kick is retaken
¢if the ball does not ent...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 12/6/2019

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello,

I have problem with two parts of the Law 14 - The Penalty kick.

Part 1) Player of both teams offends the Laws of the Game, the kick is retaken
unless a player commits a more serious offence (e.g. illegal feinting)

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 12/3/2019

Craig Osborn of Johannesburg, Gauteng South Africa asks...

What is the rule on encroachment into the penalty area? If a player has a foot grounded outside the penalty area as the ball is struck by the penalty taker, however he has started his movement towards the ball and although parts of his body are over ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 11/14/2019

George of Parangarecutirimicuaro , CA Sacratomato asks...

I was looking for feedback if anyone had any. I have read lots of articles from random places. Some, claimed that one of the rule changes was that the PK was completed and over if it was blocked by keeper or if it hit the goal posts. Other articles c...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 11/9/2019

George of Parangarecutirimicuaro , Ca Sacratomato asks...

Big debate amongst colleagues... on a penalty kick in the middle of the game, goalie blocks a PK, can the attacker score on the second touch? I am being told no but I can't find anything in the rule book that says play is over as soon as goalie block...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 9/2/2019

Refjak of Malindi, Kenya Kenya asks...

Hi!
At a penalty kick, when both the kicker and goal keeper offend and; a) a goal is scored, the kicker is cautioned and an IDFK is given to the opponents.
b) a goal is not scored, both kicker and keeper are cautioned and the kick is retaken....

Read The Full Q & A

[Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


VAR (Video Assistant Referee) Questions?


Learn about VAR (Video Assistant Referee)





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.