Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 35091

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 9/5/2023

Barry Stewart of Chilliwack, BC Canada asks...

This question is a follow up to question 35081

Thanks to all of you for your clear answers.

Update on the photos... I posted my question at the field after viewing the sequence on the small camera screen.

Once at the computer screen, I could see the heel of the keeper's back foot had risen off the line... before the ball was contacted.

The eagle-eyed AR was correct!

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Barry
Thanks for the update.
My take is that lifting a heel off and away from the line at the moment of the kick while technically an offence is somewhat “Gotcha” refereeing when VAR is not in use. If the heel is still above the line it is still legal.
My take is that only blatant and deliberate breaches of this should be called when VAR is not in use.
Of course an assistant will be happy that a call is justified based on video evidence yet at lower levels of the game this would be seen as picky.
It is one of the reasons why this law was changed
Imagine if the eagle eyed AR was on the line for the shootout in the 2005 Champions League final between Liverpool and AC Milan in Istanbul. I guess they would still be there taking penalties lol

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Barry,
The law only requires the goalkeeper to have, "at least part of one foot touching, in line with, or behind, the line." So the question for me is, even though the keeper's heel was lifted, was it still in line with (above) the line when the ball was kicked? If so, then for me, the keeper has not committed an offence.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Barry,

Thanks for your question.

The exact wording of Law 14 that's relevant here is:

"When the ball is kicked, the defending goalkeeper must have at least part of one foot touching, in line with, or behind, the goal line."

So, if no part of the foot is in contact with the line but the raised heel is above the line, that's still legal for the goalkeeper.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee MrRef

HI Barry,
eagle eye AR using a raised heel was simply incorrect. If you recall the 5 inch invisible wall of water going straight up to determine if a ball is in or out, you can use that same distinction to determine if the foot is in line per the LOTG. If the foot is wet it is on the plane of the line Look for obvious infractions not hypothetical ones that unfairly punish what already is a stressful difficult job!

Read other questions answered by Referee MrRef

View Referee MrRef profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 35091
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>