Soccer Rule Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field
The Ball
Number of Players
Players Equipment
The Referee
Assistant Referee
Duration of Play
Start / Restart
The Ball In/Out of Play
Method of Scoring
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Soccer Referee Questions on Soccer Rules

Welcome to -- a Soccer Law Question and Answer site. Providing answers to questions regarding soccer laws since October 11, 1999...

MRREF requires help! OCT 16th 2012 Germany striker Miroslav Klose received a fair play award from the German FA after admitting a goal he had scored last month in the Italian league was a handball, informing the referee a goal he had scored for Lazio against Napoli in Serie A at the end of September had hit his hand first. After Klose's confession, the referee cancelled the goal as Lazio went on to lose the match 3-0 at Napoli.

I need to know with 100% accuracy the ACTUAL restart the match referee awarded for this event. Was it a drop ball, goal kick, INDFK or DFK out? Were there any cards shown? We know what it should have been but I require what was actually done! Thanks, just doing some research contact me at if you know. The two links are related to this but the restart is not there

To recover You Call it answers use the .. Articles.. link button 3rd top left . 3 for 1 Christmas bonus check out the Nov you call its . Congratulations to those who took on the challenge to answer Oct you call it. Simon from Thursday Island Australia, Brad Heers Matt from Bristow out of the USA and Al from Strathroy Canada

You Call It!

After two years and many request - You Call It is back! Now it's your turn to test your knowledge in a scenario created by our panel of referees. If your answer is spot on we will publish it on our site! Good luck click here!

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/26/2015

RE: Competitive Under 17

Alain of Victoria, BC Canada asks...

If a team changes their keeper at half-time and the coach doesn't notify you, when do you issue the yellow card to the new and previous keeper? Do you have to wait until the kickoff is taken at the start of the second half?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/23/2015

RE: Adult


Hello.I have a question:why on the following video it is not a penalty at 2.13 Reference game: Apoel vs Anorthosis 0-2 ( Cyprus league . Pls also comment on the other 2 penalties that are given by the ref.Thanks/Demetr...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 11/23/2015

RE: Rec Under 17

Laura of :), VA USA asks...

In my last question I explained how I'd gotten my first yellow card for standing in font of the ball during a free-kick. Thank you so much for the answers! I was just very confused by the ref because his reasoning for why the opposing team had been a...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 11/22/2015

RE: High School

Bob of Ft Lauderdale , FL USA asks...

If two opposing players go to the ground in a collision and Team A's player has clear control of the loose ball. The official stops play to attend to the players. Is play resumed with an indirect free kick for Team A? Or is it a drop ball at the sit...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 13 - Free Kicks 11/22/2015

RE: Rec Under 17

Laura of :), VA USA asks...

I was playing in an All-Star tournament and received my first card for a call I really didn't think was right. About 15 minutes into the game there was a legit foul called against us right outside the 18. The player from the other team immediately to...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/21/2015

RE: Competive Adult

Richard Knight of Stilwell, Oklahoma United States asks...

Is it legal to redirect a ball with one's shoulder? I was taught that constitutes a handball (handling). I don't mean (of course) just the ball striking the player on the shoulder, but the player attempting to direct the ball using the shoulder.

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/21/2015

RE: Intermediate Under 13

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

My question is just one of mechanics. Referee McHugh gives a link to a USSF video, where the advice is to signal advantage & say 'Play on'. Referee Dawson signals advantage & verbally says 'Advantage' & uses 'Play on' to signal that advantage has b...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 11/21/2015

RE: Rec Adult

Russ B of Beaumont, California United States asks...

Maybe I misunderstood the question so Just to follow up on the initial question which says that 'the penalty kick is about to be taken' why isnt a penality kick awarded.

A penality kick can not be awarded since the ball is not in play.
Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/21/2015

RE: Adult

Jeff of Miami, Florida USA asks...

Was Altidore guilty of unsporting behavior by leaving the field of play during a corner kick? or would you consider this trifling,,see video at 4:05


Read The Full Q & A

Law 5 - The Referee 11/20/2015

RE: Competetive Under 15

mary of damascus, Maryland USA asks...

Explain the essential elements of 'applying the advantage' I am confused about enforcing this law. Thank you....

Read The Full Q & A Educating and Amusing The Soccer Referee Since October 11, 1999

Soccer Referee Extras
Sunday, November 29, 2015

Recent Questions

Click Go to view all recently posted questions

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer