Law 1 Field of Play
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
Question 1 thru 10 of 6805

[Next]

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/17/2023

AEK Fan Club Of NY of ASTORIA, NY USA asks...

Thank you all for the reply. Please allow me to visualize the question:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=asO762uX0Yg

The attacker in white #21 (IMHO) deliberately places his body between the ball and the defensive player. IMHO again, h...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/16/2023

AEK Fan Club Of NY of ASTORIA, NY USA asks...

With regards to handball. Is there a different set of rules, if the handball is done by an offensive player, while attacking vs a defensive player.

For example lets say that as the ball drops into the penalty box after a cross over pass, j...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/16/2023

Damien of Athens, Greece asks...

This is a two part question regarding the handball rule. Yesterday the following situtation occured, https://youtu.be/nPmQj1bwjAQ?t=28 .

White team was awarded a penalty since the defender kicked him.

My question though has to d...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/20/2022

Marc Boman of Walpole, MA USA asks...

In added time at the end of the second half of the Argentina v. France World Cup championship game, there was an uncalled event that looked a lot like misconduct under Law 12’s prohibition against initiating “a deliberate trick by causing the ball to...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/16/2022

Mühenned ELSEYHO of Onikisubat, Kahramanmara? Turkey asks...

Hi how are you , I have multi qustions about SLIDiNG

Is sliding legal only when the player can touch the ball? Is sliding with both feet acceptable? Is sliding in front of the player and not from his side correct? If the defender slipped...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/8/2022

Mühenned ELSEYHO of Onikisubat, Kahramanmara Turkey asks...

A single player with the goalkeeper in the penalty area, and while he was trying to shoot, the defender slipped next to him. The player did not shoot, but dribbled. During dribbling, the ball touched the defender's hand and missed the opportunity. Do...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/5/2022

Peter of Stockton, CA USA asks...

Firstly, thanks for all that you do. It is really great to have a way of confirming one's thoughts.

Richarlson's foul / penalty, was that really a foul?

To me, Richarlson came from behind the defender and so the defender was not...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/28/2022

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

I expected a little more from the World Cup. 0-0, 1-0, 0-0, 1-1, 0-1 - mostly a bit boring. But the Canadian players play very nicely and sympathetically. So I'm sorry for the results :-)

One more question, please.

The player go...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/26/2022

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello,

one maybe stupid DOGSO question, please.

Situation 1: The player runs towards the goal with the ball at his feet and is fouled from the front by the last defender. (At the moment of the foul, the defender is closer to the...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/19/2022

John J of NY, New York USA asks...

In the recent USA v GER Women's game at the very end, the opposing goal keeper leaves the penalty area to try and block a long ball. The US striker heads the ball, and after heading the ball, the goalkeeper jumps off her feet and crashes into the str...

Read The Full Q & A

[Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.