Law 1 Field of Play
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Law 11 - Offside
Question 1 thru 10 of 2341

[Next]

Law 11 - Offside 11/2/2021

JIM BARTLEY of Deeside, FLINTSHIRE United Kingdom asks...

Player A standing in an offside position behind keeper when Player B shoots. Keeper saves but parrys the ball towards Player A. Player A scores. Referee says once keeper touches the ball Player A becomes on side. Is this a correct decision because it...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 11/2/2021

Sal of CHICAGO, IL USA asks...

Blue #1 passes the ball toward a teammate (Blue #2) whom is in an offside position, however, Blue #2 stands still and the ball passes between his legs and is picked up by another teammate (Blue #3) whom happened to be onside and he breaks away and sc...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 10/16/2021

Jay LaFountain of Coldwater, MI USA asks...

Offside question. I don't usually have questions, but I had a situation come up where every other referee I asked said the call should have been offside and I have no idea how it could be possible. I was a coach at the time, and I (badly) shouted s...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 10/11/2021

Bobby of North East, Illinois USA asks...

Sorry if asked before but I want to make sure if I made the correct call. Offensive player A is in a clearly offside position. Offensive player B ,in possession of the ball, breaks through the defensive line and heads to the goal. Player A had not be...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 9/27/2021

Vasilis of Derby, Derbyshire UK asks...

Hello! I would really like to know if you consider this to be offside or not. The player runs towards the ball after it's headed by his teammate and jumps with his legs open, seemingly attempting to backheel the ball to the net, which he fails to do ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 9/25/2021

Peter Thomas of Sarnia, ON Canada asks...

At a recent game, a free kick was taken by Green#5 (playing against White) from about 30 yards out. All players were in an onside position when the kick was taken. The kick was played to a green player#9 who headed it towards the net. When she hea...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 9/24/2021

Larry of Danville, CA USA asks...

It is clear to me that when a defender jumps to head a ball or dives in front of a kick they are making a deliberate play, and by current Law this resets offside. But when is a block or header of a kick considered a save? If an attacker's kick is cle...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 9/22/2021

Mark Flynn of Glendale, AZ United States asks...

Thanks for the excellent replies gentlemen. I am now leaning even more to the wrong call being made. In this clip, the mexican defender blocks and the ball is deflected into the net. Now imagine if there was a US player in an offside position, and th...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 9/21/2021

Mark Flynn of Glendale, AZ United States asks...

Offside or not offside?

An onside player shoots, is partially blocked by a defender and the ball deflects to an offside attacker (flag went up), who then puts the ball in the net. This happened last week and the goal was given. I believe t...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 8/22/2021

John of Antrim, United Kingdom asks...

So, if the PIOP is not interfering in play in the above scenario, he could potentially be awarded a penalty kick.
However, is that not a case where the PIOP has gained an advantage by being in that position (and therefore guilty of the infractio...

Read The Full Q & A

[Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.