Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 35190

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 10/30/2023

RE: Rec Under 14

James of Lenox, Massachusetts United Staes asks...

Penalty kick during regulation time:

Player takes penalty kick
Goalie saves(deflects) the shot and bounces off post
Ball comes into play
Player who took the penalty shot then kicks it back into net.

Goal or no goal?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi James,
This is a goal. There can only be a "double touch" offence if the the same player, from a dead ball situation, touches the ball twice in succession without an intervening touch from another player. This has not happened here, because the goalkeeper has touched the ball. So the goal is good.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi James
Thanks for the question.
As described it is a perfectly good goal as the touch by the goalkeeper allowed the kicker to play the ball legally. Had it come back directly off the post without any touch by another player including the goalkeeper the kicker would be restricted by way of a double touch from playing the ball. As that did not happen the goal was good
The only other restriction would be if time was extended to allow the penalty kick. No playing of a rebound would be permitted in such a scenario




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi James,
GOOD GOAL!
not much to add, my colleagues are spot on as usual.
The PK if taken without incident:
ie no infringements by the kicker , player encroachment or early keeper movement
The moment the keeper makes physical contact with the ball the PK kicker is relieved of the 2nd touch restriction, as another player, it could be any of the other 21 players, but in this case an opposing keeper's save, has released him to play the rebound!
ONLY if the ball had DIRECTLY struck the woodwork and came back off the crossbar or either post is the PK kicker NOT permitted to play the ball. It is an INDFK out at the point the ball is touched. I recall once the AR was standing along the goal line, moved up considerably from the touchline to watch for keeper off the line movement. The PK kicker pumped the ball off the posts towards the AR the ball had not completely crossed the goal line which deflected off his knee , back towards the PK kicker. Back then the referee was part of the playing conditions so a PK kicker would be guilty of an INDFK . Nowadays there is a DB restart if an official accidentally interferes with play so a DB to the Keeper.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 35190
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.