Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Questions & Answers for ""

1 - 10 of

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/25/2022

David P Hughes of Vancouver, WA United States asks...

inside the box, a forward takes a long touch which is obviously going out of play but the keeper ploughs into the forward and knocks him over.
a) if the ball was still in play when the contact was made, is it a penalty as the touch was obviously...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/21/2022

Pete Thomas of Sarnia, Ontario Canada asks...

I was an AR at a game with the following situation. The a ball was played forward by the attacking team. The keeper came out to the edge of the penalty area, reached across the line to grab the ball and pulled it back into the penalty area. Her fe...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 6/8/2022

Marv of Bowmanville, Ontario Canada asks...

RE: Offside

Attacking team was awarded a DFK about 3 yards outside the top edge of the penalty area. I was the AR at this end of the field. Defending team set up a 7 man wall. Prior to the DFK one attacker positioned himself in an obviousl...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/1/2022

sal of CHICAGO, IL USA asks...

Shot on goal from a short distance and very powerful, the ball has a goal direction but hits the arm of the defender standing on the goal line. He was caught off guard and the handling was not intentional, he also had his arm close to his body. Would...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/30/2022

Sal of Chicago , Il Usa asks...

Player on break away with no defenders in front and about to go in the 18. Last defender tries to commit DOGSO by tripping, the attacker stumbles but stays upright and gets a shot that goes wide. What’s the redstart.
A) play advantage and yellow...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 5/28/2022

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello,

one short 'offside' question, please.

Rule says: 'A player (B1) in an offside position receiving the ball from an opponent (A1) who deliberately plays the ball, ...... , is not considered to have gained an advantage, .......

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 5/28/2022

Paul McGrane of LYTHAM ST. ANNES, Lancashire United Kingdom asks...

Two defenders challenge a forward for the ball and the forward doesn't touch the ball. The two defenders deflect the ball towards goal to an attacking player in an offside position. Is the attacking player offside because the pass by the defender was...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 5/21/2022

Gary Pratt of Aberdeen, United Kingdom asks...

Watched a game yesterday where offside was given. Rule states free kick is given even if offence is inside your own half. You can't be offside inside your own half so please explain what the offence is that allows a free kick to be taken inside your ...

Read The Full Q & A

Mechanics 5/18/2022

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello,

I'm sorry, but I still have one :-)

Advantage rule says: 'Advantage should not be applied in situations involving serious foul play, violent conduct or a second cautionable offence unless there is a CLEAR OPPORTUNITY TO S...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 1- The Field 5/11/2022

Anthony of New york, NY United States asks...

While in play our forward took a high arching shot from midfield the ball bounced at the top of the box and was going towards the goal. The goalie backed up as it was over his head into the goal reached up and hit ball as his hand was caught in the n...

Read The Full Q & A

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef



This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.