Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 13837

Law 14 - Penalty kick 9/19/2006

RE: rec Under 12

Johann Siberski of birmingham, Al USA asks...

In a penalty shootout if the ball strikes the crossbar directly from the kick and then bounces off the keeper into the goal... is it a goal?

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Yes. The shot does not end until all energy placed on ball at kick is over.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Yes. If the ball is still moving, it's in play



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Jeroen Krijvenaar

Johann, the law states as long as the ball is in motion, the effect of the penalty is still in place , so yes its a goal.
(hope it did not happen to your teams goallie ;-)



Read other questions answered by Referee Jeroen Krijvenaar

View Referee Jeroen Krijvenaar profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Johann,
it is a goal UNLESS your referee is too quick on the whistle. I have seen controversy when a rebound off the top of the crossbar went up into the air and then on its way down hit a celebrating keeper on the back of the shoulders as he was picking himself up and into the goal! . The referee has sounded the whistle too early and the goal did not count. Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 13837
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>