Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 17779

Law 11 - Offside 11/8/2007

RE: Recreational Other

Roger K. Hodgkiss of Nashua, NH USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 17284

My recreational league changed from a full field 11v11 format for the U12 level to the smaller field 8v8 format. A question was raised that since there is no offside on a goal kick, what's to prevent a member of the kicking team from positioning himself in front of the opposition's goal and, providing the keeper can kick that far, being the first to play the ball? Just to be clear, this is a true goal kick from within the goal area (not a punt).
My first thought was that if an attacker was able to position himself past the defenders and the keeper didn't call for help, there's a bigger problem.
Thanks in advance.

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

No problem with that scenario whatsoever - if the player taking the goal kick can boot it that far. It would take a pretty mighty kick for a U12 player - I'm presuming you're playing on fields that are about 80 yards long.

Since goal kicks are direct, the player taking the kick could score a goal - and it has happened on full-size fields, with a lucky bounce.

Now, if the goal kick doesn't make it all the way to the other end of the field, your long-ranging striker will be in a very offside position and unable to participate in play until she gets back to an onside position when her team next touches the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

perfectly legal. If the keeper can kick it that far and it doesn't touch a teammate on the way, the attacker in front of the keeper may legally play the ball. As you rightly say, the keeper should be yelling her head off for some assistance!



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17779
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>