Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 1915

Law 14 - Penalty kick

Richard Dawson of Edmonton, Alberta Canada asks...

During the taking of a penalty kick in (a) extended time or (b) in a shoot out situation When the kicker shoots and the ball hits the goal post or crossbar and rebounds away from the goal only to hit the keeper and rebound in. Is this a goal? My belief in extended time once the ball hit the crossbar or goal post and was not going in to the net the game is over. Is it the same in a shoot out? I realize a ricochet off the keeper then off the post then the keeper again into the goal could be construed as still in play. On one occassion the keeper had stopped the shot it hit her in the chest she attempted to sqeeze it but mishandled the ball and it dropped off her foot and into the goal. Because I felt she did not have complete control I allowed the goal

Answer provided by Referee Victor Matheson

During added time or the taking of kicks from the mark, the kick continues through any combination of posts, crossbars and goalkeepers. The ball rebounding and hitting the keeper and then bouncing into the goal should still be considered a goal. Similarly a rebound off the keeper into the post and into the goal is also a goal. Your third example of the goalkeeper mishandling the ball should also be a goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Victor Matheson

View Referee Victor Matheson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 1915
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 15272

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>