Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 20765

Law 15 - Throw In 1/26/2009

RE: select High School

john of wilson, north carolina wilson asks...

Can my defensive player on my team throw the ball in the air( on a throw in)to my goalie and my goalie catch the ball in the air.

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

No. The goalkeeper may not use his hands to play a ball thrown directly to him by a throw-in taken by his own team.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Yes your defender 'can' do this and Yes your keeper 'can' catch the ball in the air. However, high school rules prohibit this as a legal play and the referee should stop play and award an indirect free kick against your side for the keeper handling the ball directly throw-in to him by a team mate. This has been so since 1998 in US High School and 1997 in the rest of the world's Laws of the Game.

Having the ball caught in the air or after bouncing 2 times or after rolling some distance does not change the fact the ball has been directly thrown in by a colleague.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

He certainly is able to do this but the keeper is forbidden to use his hands on a ball directly thrown-in to him by a teammate. That means the ball must touch another player before the keeper may handle it legally and it doesn't matter if the ball is in the air or on the ground. Until the ball touches another player, the keeper may not touch it with his hands. Punishment is an indirect free kick for the opponents



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20765
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>