Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 21705

Law 3 - Number of Players 7/27/2009

RE: Competitive Adult

Gil of Ann Arbor, MI USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 21694

I think you guys missed the subtlety of the question. Or I read a subtlety in that wasn't there....

So, the team calls for a substitution: #10 out, #13 in. We are good refs and use proper substitution mechanics, and we wait for #10 to leave the field before beckoning #13 on. #10 has stepped off the field. We are about to beckon #13 on when we notice the necklace/earings/lack-of-shinguards/whatever. We tell #13 to correct the problem. Assume that correcting the problem takes more than a couple of seconds (he needs to run to his car to get his shinguards).

So, is #13 a player or a substitute? Is #10 a player or a substituted player? Neither is an outside agent, of course, but as we all know, the decision on this point affect a number of important things (e.g. Violent Conduct by a non-player does not cause a team to play short).

As I read (2007) ATR 3.5, we deny the substitution, tell #10 that he is still a player, and tell #13 to inform the AR when he is fully prepared to participate, and that we will conduct the substitution at the next opportunity after that. Until then #13 is still a substitute.

Correct?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Someone in SE Mich who follows proper substitution mechanics? Will wonders never cease.

You don't technically 'deny the substitution', but you inform the players that the substitution is not complete. The team is able to put player #10 back onto the field, or play down until substitute #13 is properly equipped and ready to go in. If they choose to play down, #10 continues to be a player until #13 properly enters the field.

Law 3, Substitution Procedure:
? the substitution is completed when a substitute enters the field of play
? from that moment, the substitute becomes a player and the player he has replaced becomes a substituted player

This might be different from the question in 21694, which asks about a "nominated player". The Laws of the Game have no such animal, but there are "nominated substitutes": those persons on the roster who may become called upon to substitute into the game for a player. Our answers in 21694 considered whether the ill-equipped player was one of the starting 11 or was a nominated substitute. If the former, then there is no substitution procedure to follow.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

In your example the substitution was never completed as the substitute never entered the field of play. Hence, even though #10 left the field of play, he is still a player and we simply tell him to come back onto the field



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Gil - a good question.

The laws say that the substitution has been completed when the substitute enters the field of play.

In your scenario this does not occur, thus #13 is still a sub, and #10 is still a player - and may return to the field of play (with permission) until #13 is ready to come on.

If #13 so much as put a toe on the line then was told to leave to correct his equipment, the substitution has been completed and #13 is now a player.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 21705
Read other Q & A regarding Law 3 - Number of Players

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>