Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 22514

Kicks From The Penalty mark 11/14/2009

RE: Under 19

mrh of Manhattan Beach, Ca USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 22139

When a keeper who is eligible to take kicks is injured during Kicks From The Mark is replaced by a teammate from off the field, can that player also take kicks?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
First off the goalkeeper can only be replaced at KFTPM if he/she is injured and the team have not used all its substitution quota during the game. If the total substitution quota has been used, the injured goalkeeper must be replaced by a player who was on the field of play at the final whistle.
If the goalkeeper is replaced then there is no restriction on the substitute goalkeeper taking a penalty kick. Indeed if the KFTPM continue the substitute will be required to take a penalty kick before a teammate can take a 2nd penalty in the 2nd series of kicks.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Of course. The replacement keeper becomes a member of the players on that team that are eligible to partake in kicks from the penalty mark. Furthermore, even if the injured keeper had already taken his kick during that rotation, the new keeper must take a kick before anyone participating in kicks on his team may take their next kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

It doesn't immediately seem intuitive that both keepers should be kicking, if the original took a kick before going down hurt. That would give that team an extra kicker in that round.

But just because that goes against 'reduce to equate' in principle, that's no reason to dismiss it. After all, if a player is sent off after kicks begin, the teams are not of equal number any more.

The procedure in the Laws says: 'Each kick is taken by a different player and all eligible players must take a kick before any player can take a second kick.' The new keeper must be considered an eligible player. If the kicks go to another round the new keeper would certainly be considered eligible. So she must be eligible in the current round.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22514
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>