Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 24978

Law 7 - Match Duration 5/20/2011

RE: Professional

Mike Hrzic of Kelowna, B.C. Canada asks...

I watched a relegation/promotion playoff match from Germany between VfL Bochum and Borussia Moenchengladbach. At the end of the match the 4th official signalled for 2 minutes of added time. At the 2:10 mark, Moenchengladbach were awarded a corner kick. The corner is taken, a number of scoring chances takes place and finally, Moenchengladbach scores after the third attempt at about the 2:30 mark. The Bochum coach was furious because he said that this was well after the 2 minutes signalled by the fourth official. He also said if the fourth official had signalled 3 minutes, he would not have had a problem with the outcome. Is he correct in protesting that the game should have ended at the 2 minute mark and the goal should not have been awarded?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mike
The 4th official's board signals the minimum amount of added time that will be played not the actual time to be played. In this case that there was to be a minimum of 2 minutes of added time. So it could be 2 minutes 45 seconds. There could be a problem if the referee signalled 3 minutes and only played 2.45. Also during the added time if there is a reason to add on for further time lost during that period that can be done also and that happens frequently.
Anyway as I always say to coaches ' The referee is the sole judge of time and the game ends when the referee signals for full time'. Simply defend, play to the final whistle and the situation does not arise.
As described it is not a protestable decision and it never is unless there is a clear timing error by the referee that is verifiable such as playing 35 minutes instead of 45 minutes.
BTW if the referee signalled 3 minutes the coach would be furious asking where the referee got 3 minutes of added time.
Funny how its never poor defending that conceded the goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

No, he is not correct. The amount of time displayed by the fourth official is the referee's best estimate of time lost UP TO THAT POINT IN THE MATCH which must be added back to playing time. It is entirely possible and probable that events will occur which will cause the referee to add more time - which is always up to his/her discretion.

Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Gene Nagy

Mike, the signal from the A/R is the minimum time the referee estimates will be added to the game. It is roughly two minutes in this case and it is pretty obvious that it is not to the second. What should the ref say if there is exactly 2:30 to play? How could he convey this information to the public through his A/R while he is reffing? I suggest there is no way. Also, let's say he chose to signal THREE minutes for the 2:30 that was left. Now the other coach is going to be upset for stopping the game to early!
Mike, I ride a 2006 Kawasaki Nomad.The owner's manual says that it has a displacement of exactly 1,552 cc. Guess what this machine is called? Well, the answer is 1,600 because they round up. Does this mean that Harley-Davidson should sue Kawasaki for false advertising?

Read other questions answered by Referee Gene Nagy

View Referee Gene Nagy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 24978
Read other Q & A regarding Law 7 - Match Duration

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.