Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 25203

Kicks From The Penalty mark 7/13/2011

RE: Select Under 13

DougB of Irvine, Ca USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 25196

In KFTPM, each player on the field (including the goalkeeper) must take a kick before anyone can take a second kick, I believe I'm understanding this correctly.

If blue #7 takes a kick, which gets retaken for whatever reason, and blue #12 takes the 'retake,' that is fine, as long as blue #12 hasn't kicked yet (or, if he has but so has everyone else. Still on the same idea.

Since blue #7's kick was deemed to be retaken, does it still count as a kick for him? for the purposes of going through the roster?

I'm guessing #7 still has taken his kick, but wanted to verify.

Thanks as always!
DougB

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Doug
There is nothing wrong with Blue #12 taking a retake of a penalty kick.
As described Blue#7 has not taken a completed kick and he must do so before another player can take a 2nd kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

USSF published a terrific checklist for KFTPM, and summer tournament season is a good time to review it.

http://www.ussoccer.com/News/Referee-Programs/2009/04/Kicks-From-The-Penalty-Mark.aspx

It confirms: 'The original kicker whose kick is retaken by a different eligible
player is not counted as having taken a kick.'



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 25203
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>