Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 26108

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/29/2012

RE: High School

Paul of Vacaville, CA. USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 25901

Hey guys thanks in advance,
Just to clarieid, If a player taking a FK
kicks the back to his GK,(a) GK dosen't touch the ball,(b)touches the ball (not with his/her hands)ball goes into goal. The restart is (a)Corner Kick(b)Kick-off
there's a beer in it for the right answer

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

If a player takes any restart and sends it back to their own goal, if it goes into the goal without any other player touching it then the restart is a corner.

If any player - including their own keeper - touches it, then it's a goal.

For my order, I'll take anything German. Bottoms up!



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Paul
A team cannot score directly on itself on any restart. So in A the restart is a corner kick and in B the restart is a kick off.
BTW it makes no difference if a player uses his/her hands. It is still a goal as advantage can be played or in the case of a goalkeeper it is legal inside the penalty area so play continues and a goal awarded.
The assumption is made that the free kick was outside the penalty area. A free kick taken inside the penalty area must leave the penalty area to be put into play. If it fails to leave the penalty area the kick is retaken



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Vacaville? Raise your free beer in honor of our late colleague, Chuck. Because your answers are correct.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26108
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 26116

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>