- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 26270Law 2 - The Ball 4/30/2012RE: rec Adult sam street of preston, lancashire england asks...If a goal is scored but the ball had become deflated/burst after the initial kick (ie on route to goal) does the goal still stand thanks Sam Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh Hi Sam A goal cannot be awarded if the ball has been burst or defective en route to goal. Should it do so the game is stopped, the ball is replaced and the restart is a dropped ball from where the ball became defective. The one exception to this law is when it happens at a penalty kick. If the ball bursts or becomes defective during a penalty kick or during kicks from the penalty mark as it moves forward and before it touches any player or the crossbar or goalposts, the penalty kick is retaken. However is the referee's to know whether it happened before or after the goal? I might add that in all my days I have yet to see a ball bursting during a goal scoring opportunity.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino once the ball bursts, the match is stopped and restarted with a dropped ball. the exception is at a penalty where it would be retaken
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26270
Read other Q & A regarding Law 2 - The Ball
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>
|