Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 26524

Law 15 - Throw In 7/3/2012

RE: Competive Under 14

Matt Kelly-B of San Diego, CA USA asks...

Throw in the moment of delivery. seems you must use both feet yet a foot can come up after completeion of the throw were should we consider both feet are not on the groumd? Id rather not call this since normal human motion always seem to use both feet for the intial throw but momentem gives it the appeareance a foot was not on the ground the moment of delevery> no matter who it is 99.9 time they have to use both feet to deliver that ball FACT! Its the after is the question.
I picked this up on line but it still leaves grey area for the after or when I need to look for the foot when to call it?


At the moment of delivering the ball, the thrower:
? faces the field of play
? has part of each foot either on the touch line or on the ground
outside the touch line
? holds the ball with both hands
? delivers the ball from behind and over his head
? delivers the ball from the point where it left the field of play
All opponents must stand no less than 2 m (2 yds) from the point at
which the throw-in is taken.
The ball is in play when it enters the field of play.
After delivering the ball, the thrower must not touch the ball again
until it has touched another player.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Matt
The key is in the opinion of the referee and the assistant referee. I have looked recently at a number of long throw experts in the Premier League and unlike in the past they continue their movement significantly on to the field of play due to momentum from the run up. These are never called as incorrectly taken throw in and I believe rightly so.
However I do know referees who will not allow running or walking at the point of the throw in as they believe both feet must be on the ground. When I was a young player the thrower was expected to have both feet firmly planted and many players on a run up throw made an exaggerated motion with the trailing foot being dragged along the ground to show that the foot was touching the ground.
Over the years more emphasis has been placed on the throwing motion and the foot fault is only an issue for underage.
So my advice is not to concern oneself too much about a raised foot. The parts to focus on as a referee is that the ball is thrown from behind the head and that is is not dropped and that it is taken from the correct location. As an AR the focus should be on the player not having the planted foot totally over the touchline.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

Many infringements on a throw-in are doubtful or trifling. Call those which result in an unfair disadvantage to the opponents. There is real disadvantage when the thrower runs 10 - 15 yrds up the line. There is real disadvantage when a long throw is based on an unlawful technique.

But, except at u-little where they are trying to learn the game, the referee can ignore most of the minor stuff that affects nothing.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

The foot comes up usually after the ball has left the hands which means the ball is in play. Even if the trail foot comes up a second early, it can and usually will be viewed as a trifling offense



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26524
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>