Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 26800

Kicks From The Penalty mark 9/19/2012

RE: Adult

d of mpumalanga, ermelo SA asks...

during penalty kicks after the game if the penality is taken and its agoel but the assistance official flags was raised saying the goalkeeper moves is the penality a retake or agoal

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Since the player got the ball in the net despite the goalkeeper's movement, the goal will count. If the kicker had missed, he'd get another chance if the referee accepted the assistant ref's opinion of an infraction having taken place.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

If the keeper encroaches before the kick is taken, but the ball goes in the goal, then the goal shall stand. It will only be a retake for a keeper infringement if the ball does not enter the goal.

As such, there would be no reason for the AR to signal an encroachment if the ball goes in the goal, so I can't help but wonder if it was something else he was concerned about.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
I assume a goal was not scored in which case as the goalkeeper has infringed Law 14 the penalty kick is retaken.
If the ball enters the goal then there is no need for a flag and the goal is awarded.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26800
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>