Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 27146

Law 17 - Corner Kick 1/30/2013

RE: Select Other

KW of Concord, CA USA asks...

Regarding kicker coming in contact with a corner flag on a corner kick. If intentional, what is the restart? And is it simply referee discretion as to whether the contact is intentional or not?
Wondering if age consideration/ rec. vs. Select vs. Club are also items to consider. My situation was a U10 Select player during his kick used his arm and shoulder to contact the flag to seemingly improve his angle of where he wanted kick to be dirscted.
I blew the whistle and awarded a goal kick to opposing team, was wondering if restart was correct. Thanks.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Any infringement of Law 17 that is not specifically mentioned in the LotG results in a retake. So in this situation if deliberate play should be stopped, the player warned about the situation and the CK is retaken. If it is unintentional the referee could allow play to continue or deal with it by a dropped ball.
In this situation it could have been an IDFK for touching the ball twice (probably unseen) , a goal kick (as the ball went out of play) or a dropped ball. Referee went with a dropped ball which was uncontested and sportingly kicked out for a goal kick.
In these situation referees should also consider why it is was done and if it is intentional or not? Is the corner flag lying at an angle, restricting the kick? That should be dealt with in the pre match inspection of the field of play. If unintentional play can continue and the flag replaced at the next stoppage.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

When you saw the player grab the flag you should have blown the whistle. If you didn't have time to and the corner kick proceeded, the restart is a corner kick as it was not taken properly.
Also have a talk with the player. It should be noted that a properly positioned flag should not be in the way of a player taking a kick and should be repositioned before the retake.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27146
Read other Q & A regarding Law 17 - Corner Kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 27167

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.