Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 27641

Law 17 - Corner Kick 8/4/2013

RE: 8 High School

Paul Napier of Vacaville, CA USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 27521

I have seen this 'Trick' twice, once in High School, and at a U12 Boys game. The one done in High School I was the AR at the corner. The First Player set the ball down inside the Arc and Barely touched it with her foot (more of an alignment touch)
the ball did not leave the arc. Then a second player on the field said 'I'll take it' and both players switch positions. The second player tapped the ball forward moving the ball outside the arc, and then proceeded to dribble the ball forward (2nd touch, I raised my flag, and waved, the center blew his whistle, and then I showed direction. At half I discussed with the center what happened and if I did the right procedure. The center told me that it right, because I identified the second player as the kicker. In the U12-B game, I again recognized the second player as the designated kicker. Later the AR at the corner said he was told by the player that they were going to do this 'trick', and that it was legal. So my question to you is; Is it legal? Are there certain criteria's that must be met to make it legal? Personally, I don't like it, to me it cheapens the game. Look forward to your wisdom.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Paul
First off a player is never identified as a kicker with the one exception of a penalty kick. At all other times the player either kicks the ball or not.
So in the first situation the decision has to be made as to whether the ball was kicked and moved or not. Touching it with a foot may not have been a kick. For there to be ?kicking,? the player?s foot must move in a kicking motion. If this results in only a slight movement, one that could be considered as making the ball ?move,? then that meets the requirement of a kick.If it was kicked and moved by a player then the ball is in play and may be played by a 2nd player.
Now this is the tricky part. If the ball is kicked and moved then it is in play and if no verbal distractions are used then there is no possible offence. If however a player verbally distracts an opponent (LotG) or uses deliberate verbal tactics (NFHS) then that is a caution and the restart is an IDFK.
In Europe if a player shouts "Leave it. I'll take it" then that can be deemed verbal distraction. It is not ?team-neutral?, unlike say "Mine" where a player deserves whatever happens next. I know from previous questions in the US that if a coach shouts as part of a ruse that is considered misconduct. I personally see no difference between a coach shouting as a ruse to make it work and a player doing the same thing.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

The ball is in play when it is kicked and moves. It does not have to leave the corner arc. High school rules used to use the phrase 'touched and moved', but that has recently been changed to make it clear that the tap of the top of the ball is not enough to put the ball into play.

In the US, however, the advice on the 'trick' play is that a player MAY use verbal guile (saying 'I'll take it or 'you'll take it') on any free kick, including a corner kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27641
Read other Q & A regarding Law 17 - Corner Kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.