Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 27772

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 9/16/2013

RE: rec, select Under 15

matt of san fran, ca usa asks...

If a player shoots the ball and the goalie saves the ball inside the plane of the goal line is it a goal even though it never touches anything in the goal?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

The ball must completely cross the goal line for a goal to count. If the goalkeeper didn't let that happen, then there is no goal. Did they not teach this in your referee certification classes? Or are you checking up because you got some grief in a game where you made the right decision?

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

HI Matt
If all of the ball crosses all of the plane of the goal line then it is a goal. The ball does not have to touch the net or the ground.
In fact the Laws allow for the game to be played without nets. Most if not all competition rules insist on nets though.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

If the ball wholly crosses the goal line, then it's a goal. It doesn't matter if it touches the net or the ground, it simply needs to wholly pass the line, whether along the ground or in the air. This is the case for crossing any line.

But if the ball still has a sliver above the goal line then it's still in play, irrelevant of the position of the keeper.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27772
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>